New releases // Apr 7, 2017

Father John Misty

Pure Comedy (Deluxe Edition)

  • Aluminum & Copper vinyl. 2xLP
RELEASE DATE // Apr 7, 2017
12" Album / Sub Pop / Folk, World, Country
Father John Misty's third studio album, 'Pure Comedy' is the highly anticipated follow-up to his internationally acclaimed album, 'I Love You, Honeybear' (2015).

Pure Comedy was recorded in 2016 at the legendary United Studios and it was produced by Father John Misty (Josh Tillman) and Jonathan Wilson, with engineering by Mistys longtime sound-person Trevor Spencer and orchestral arrangements by renowned composer/double-bassist Gavin Bryars.

"Pure Comedy is the story of a species born with a half-formed brain. The species’ only hope for survival, finding itself on a cruel, unpredictable rock surrounded by other species who seem far more adept at this whole thing (and to whom they are delicious), is the reliance on other, slightly older, half-formed brains. This reliance takes on a few different names as their story unfolds, like “love,” “culture,” “family,” etc. Over time, and as their brains prove to be remarkably good at inventing meaning where there is none, the species becomes the purveyor of increasingly bizarre and sophisticated ironies. These ironies are designed to help cope with the species’ loathsome vulnerability and to try and reconcile how disproportionate their imagination is to the monotony of their existence." - Josh Tillman

With the album announcement Father John Misty has also released a video of the album's title track (Pure Comedy), along with a 25 minute film rendered black & white, documenting the making of the album.

The Deluxe Edition features a double colored pressing (Aluminum & Copper colored vinyl) housed in a die-cut customizable jacket with 4 interactive "background" dust sleeves, a tri-fold poster & holographic tarot card. All these are then housed in a tidy plastic slipcase. The album cover was illustrated by Ed Steed (The New Yorker).

A bonus 7" is also included for first 100 pre-orders, featuring the single "Real Love Baby" and "Rejected Generic Pop Song, March 15 #3".
1. Pure Comedy
2. Total Entertainment Forever
3. Things It Would Be Helpful to Know Before the Revolution
4. Ballad of the Dying Man
5. Birdie
6. Leaving LA
7. A Bigger Paper Bag
8. When the God of Love Returns There'll Be Hell to Pay
9. Smoochie
10. Two Wildly Different Perspectives
11. The Memo
12. So I’m Growing Old on Magic Mountain
13. In Twenty Years or So

Shop for colored vinyl

Show more