New releases //Sep 16, 2016

Kishi Bashi


  • Joyful Noise VIP Edition. Clear w/ Black, White, Gold & Bronze Splatter vinyl limited to 500 hand-numbered copies.
RELEASE DATE // September 16, 2016
12"Album /Joyful Noise /Experimental, Indie rock
Sonderlust is an album forged through heartbreak. After his two previous studio albums (151a and Lighght), Kishi Bashi was at a musical impasse. “As I sat down to write songs last summer, I went to all my usual conduits of creation: violin loops, guitar, piano…and I came up with the musical equivalent of fumes,” says K. Ishibashi. “I tried to create orchestral pop recordings that I assumed were my forte, and in turn I found myself standing in front of a creative wall of frightening heights.”

At this very same moment of musical uncertainty, K’s personal life was falling apart… He and his wife of 13 years had briefly separated and were struggling to keep their marriage together. In his own words, “Touring and its accompanying lifestyle took a heavy toll on my soul and my family.” As an outlet, K submerged himself in a new musical direction. Sonderlust emerged as a direct result of this personal struggle taking place at an artistic crossroads.

Includes bonus Golden 7″ vinyl featuring ‘rare’ piano recordings.
1. m'lover
2. Hey Big Star
3. Say Yeah
4. Can't Let Go, Juno
5. Ode to My Next Life
6. Who'd You Kill
7. Statues in a Gallery
8. Why Don't You Answer Me
9. Flame on Flame (a Slow Dirge)
10. Honeybody

Bonus 7":
1. Hey Big Star (piano version)
2. Can't Let Go, Juno (piano version)

Shop for colored vinyl

Show more