New releases // Sep 1, 2017


Every Country's Sun

  • Limited deluxe edition opaque white vinyl.
  • Standard black vinyl.
RELEASE DATE // Sep 1, 2017
12" Album / Rock Action / Rock, Electronic
Mogwai announce new album Every Country's Sun, the follow-up to 2014's Rave Tapes, and shares first song Coolverine which you can listen below.

Every Country's Sun takes two decades of Mogwai's signature, contrasting sounds – towering intensity, pastoral introspection, synth-rock minimalism, DNA-detonating volume – and distills it, beautifully, into 56 concise minutes of gracious elegance, hymnal trance-rock, and transcendental euphoria. Produced by psych-rock luminary Dave Fridmann, it's a structural soundscape built from stark foundations up; from a gentle, twinkling, synth-rock spectre to a solid, blown-out, skyward-thrusting obelisk. There's percussive, dream-state electronics (“Coolverine”), church organs as chariots of existential fire (“Brain Sweeties”), tremulous, foreboding bleeping – possibly from a dying android (“aka 47”). Their most transportive album yet, it also hosts their most fully realized art-pop sing-along of their storied history, “Party In The Dark,” a head-spinning disco-dream double-helix echoing New Order and The Flaming Lips, featuring Braithwaite's seldom-heard melodic vocals declaring he's “directionless and innocent, searching for another piece of mind”. This is music as a keep-out chrysalis, protective audio armor through exalting organs and portentous, dissonant guitar fuzz warping at the edges, bending the world inside-out into a reality in which you'd much rather live. The last three songs ascend into explosive exorcism, closing with the colossal “Every Country's Sun,” its searching intensity whooshing towards infinity in a dazzling cosmic crescendo.

Deluxe Edition includes Every Country's Sun on exclusive Opaque White 180 Gram colored vinyl, an exclusive bonus 180 Gram 12" featuring previously unreleased demos, the Compact Disc™ format of Every Country's Sun, and an exclusive set of 7 photo prints – all packaged in a beautiful, sturdy full-color box.
Tracklist: 1. Coolverine
2. Party In The Dark
3. Brain Sweeties
4. Crossing The Road Material
5. aka 47
6. 20 Size
7. 1000 Foot Face
8. Don't Believe The Fife
9. Battered At The Scramble
10. Old Poisons
11. Every Country's Sun

Deluxe edition bonus 12" tracklisting:
1. Acoustic Wash Demo Rough Mix
2. Baritone 2 Demo Rough Mix
3. Bass Tuned To C Demo Rough Mix
4. Bends Demo Rough Mix
5. Frez Demo Rough Mix
6. Ludicrous Ripper Demo Rough Mix

Shop for colored vinyl

Show more