New releases // Mar 9, 2018



  • VIP edition translucent magenta and white vinyl with multi-colored splatter, timited to 300 hand-numbered copies.
  • Red vinyl.
  • Standard black vinyl.
RELEASE DATE // Mar 9, 2018
12" Album / Joyful Noise Recordings / Experimental, Electronic, Psychedelic
Oneida has been a cornerstone of the Brooklyn underground for nearly two decades. Always evolving, the group has been a beacon of musical exploration and enthralling unpredictability, gaining legendary status among heads that know and expanding the limits of what it means to be a rock band. With a discography spanning over a dozen full-lengths, plus live releases, EPs, singles, and limited one-offs, Oneida has demonstrated a mastery of collective improvisation, off-kilter songwriting, complex composition, and everything in between.

Recorded over several years in various locales, the 11 songs on Romance are built around deeply developed long-arc rhythm/phase concepts, noise, yearning, blind guitar rage, longing, the lurch of dying electronics, and a multi-modal embrace of human fallibility and artifice. From the crackling synth-led opener “Economy Travel” to the expansive 18-minute epic “Shepherd’s Axe,” Romance is an album in constant flux. On “Bad Habit” the band employs phasing between organ and guitar to great, disorienting effect, while the primitive riffs of “Cockfight” offer a contrasting vision of rock minimalism. Listen closely on “Lay of the Land” and you will hear constant rhythmic development, with drummer Kid Millions eschewing repetition in favor of morphing patterns of hi-hat and snare. As with all mystery, Romance reveals more through closer attention and multiple listens.
Tracklist: 1. Economy Travel (5:15)
2. Bad Habit (5:56)
3. All In Due Time (3:03)
4. It Was Me (3:48)
5. Good Lie (6:58)
6. Lay of the Land (10:42)
7. Cedars (5:04)
8. Reputation (4:10)
9. Cockfight (4:37)
10. Good Cheer (4:26)
11. Shepherd's Axe (18:12)

Shop for colored vinyl

Show more