New releases // Sep 22, 2017


The Desaturating Seven

  • Rainbow splatter colored vinyl.
  • "Desaturated" clear vinyl and alternate cover art, limited to 2,000 copies.
  • Deluxe Bundle, edition of 500.
RELEASE DATE // Sep 22, 2017
12" Album / ATO Records / Rock, Alternative, Experimental
The seven-track is the first studio album from Primus since 2011's Green Naugahyde, and is based on a 1970s children's book The Rainbow Goblins by Italian writer and illustrator Ul de Rico. Bassist Les Claypool was introduced to the book by his wife, both of them struck by "vibrant and intense and eerie and somewhat creepy" artwork. The book tells the story of seven goblins, one for each colour of the rainbow, who pull the rest of the colour out of the world.

"The dark imagery and beauty of the art struck me immediately and I thought, "this would make good fodder for a piece of music." The use of color and darkness both in the paintings and the writing was compelling and now, near two decades later, the metaphor of greed, gluttony and deceit vs unity of the masses is eerily relevant. I brought the notion to the Primus guys and they were all for it. Plus, I figured it's about time someone brought 'Goblin Rock' back to the fold."

The album also marks the reunion of the classic Primus lineup featuring Claypool, guitarist Larry LaLonde and drummer Tim Alexander.

The Deluxe Bundle includes an "The Rainbow Goblins" autographed book, an exclusive pre-order t-shirt, an autographed poster, and The Desaturating Seven album in your choice of CD, Rainbow Splatter vinyl, or Desaturated vinyl (Limited to 2,000 units).

Primus have also shared new album track "The Seven," which you can listen to below.
Tracklist: 1.The Valley
2.The Seven
3.The Trek
4.The Scheme
5.The Dream
6.The Storm
7.The Ends?

Shop for colored vinyl

Show more