New releases // Nov 24, 2016


No Illusions (Second Pressing)

  • Super Fan Exclusive vinyl limited to 25 copies.
  • Black Infinity splatter vinyl limited to 75 copies.
  • Clear with Yellow & Red Swirl vinyl limited to 150 copies.
  • Clear Blue with Dark Blue Swirl vinyl limited to 250 copies.
RELEASE DATE // Nov 24, 2016
12" Album / Echo Drug Recordings / Pop, Psychedelic
The time is suddenly right for well-crafted British pop – there’s a thirst for new century psychedelia which is where London quintet SULK fit in. Steeped in the rich traditions of classic British songwriting, the band could be said to begin where the 90s ended – or as The Guardian put it, ‘like the Stone Roses if they signed to Creation’ – with solid musicality, joyful uplifting harmonies, giant psychedelic guitar riffs and of course, tambourines.

i-D Magazine said they were a ‘Five piece with a soaring British sound, full of attitude and swagger”, NME called them ‘Pretty damn catchy’ and they’ve been compared to just about every great Britpop band of the 90s, but SULK are very much their own men; musically tight and lyrically beautiful with sun-drenched vocals, ethereal guitars and pounding drums, rooted in 90s vibes but with their gaze to the future. This is anthemic bliss for a whole new generation.

After releasing their debut 'Graceless' and having done numerous shows and tours, including a full UK tour with Happy Mondays, SULK entered the recording studio to continue their journey on the musical atlas’s uncharted routes. Big Jelly Studios, a converted Neo-Gothic church located in the seaside town of Ramsgate, was the host of a month long recording session. Supervised and conducted by producer/mixer Jonas Verwijnen over twenty demos blossomed into a colourful mix of well crafted pop tunes. Sticking to their basic musical values of classic indie, pop, shoegaze and psychedelia, but adding elements of motown beats, sitars, Love-esque vocal harmonies and Lynchian cinematic atmosphere SULK’s sophomore creation stays true to its heart yet elevates itself to a point seemingly different to it’s older sibling.
Tracklist: 1. Black Infinity (Upside Down)
2. The Only Faith Is Love
3. No Illusions
4. Drifting
5. One Day
6. Past Paradise
7. Queen Supreme
8. Love Can't Save You Now
9. The Tape Of You
10. Another Man Fades Dawn

Shop for colored vinyl

Show more